Posted by: Peaceful Social Worker | February 27, 2012

Why am I “Peaceful”?

I decided on the name Peaceful Social Worker since I live near the Peace River. It is one of the most beautiful rivers in Canada. The region where I live is called “The Peace”. I wanted some reference to that.

I am also increasingly a pacifist as I get older. I have seen what violence does in people’s lives, and have come to believe that it serves no useful purpose. I believe there are usually better options than going to war. Does that make me weak? Not in your life. Sometimes when war is not an option, we are forced to find a better solution. A solution that usually requires more courage and skills.

I will admit that I am a bit of a fighter. I have Irish redheaded ancestors. I’m sure I have ancestors that were Methodist temperance riders who fought for things they believed in. My grandfather figured the blonde hair in the family was from the Vikings. Oh yes, I have a fighting spirit. I will fight for something I believe in. I won’t use guns or other weapons though. If there is a wrong I believe needs to be addressed, and I believe I have the skills and ability to address it, I will. After all, as a social worker, and human being, I believe I need to stand up to injustice when I can. It isn’t easy of course. And frankly, I think there is a frustrated social activist inside me. So, I find gentler ways to create change when I can.

People who know me today might find it hard to believe that I was once a shy, quiet kid. I did not like to make waves, or rock the boat. Now, I am less afraid to say what I believe. Having said that, I will listen to what you believe. By listening and also by speaking up, we will make changes. One step at a time.

The practice of peace and reconciliation is one of the most vital and artistic of human actions ~ Thich Nhat Hanh

Responses

  1. Welcome to blogging 🙂 I enjoyed reading your post and look forward to what you have to say. Here’s to a good week!

  2. Welcome to blogging and thanks for commenting on my (recently begun) new blog..
    As I get older I am at one and the same time more and less tolerant, more and less activist, etc. In short, as I age I pick my battles, which are, increasingly, less about the personal and more about the political.
    Although I agree in principle that non-violence is the correct way to live one’s life..those words you quoted were from a time when instant imposition of a Right Wing theocracy was the norm..and those not of the elite were completely helpless in the face of it
    Now, we have other weapons at our disposal, such as the highly-disseminated word, and youth who increasingly turn away from the old answers..always a good sign.
    May we be able to keep or peaceful resolutions in the turmoil inevitably ahead.

  3. Thanks for your comments cityprole. I agree with you. As I get older I am more tolerant about some things, and less tolerant about others. I believe my activism is a quieter, though possibly stronger version. I often prefer to be the pebble in the pond……if I can influence one or two people, they will influence one or two people each, and so it goes.

    I sometimes fear that right-wing theocracy is coming back in another form. At the same time, we do have better tools at hand. The authorities have tried to shut down social media like Twitter and Facebook, but the message continues to flow, and the voices cannot be silenced. Yay. I think that what I see as a return of the right-wing theocracy, is really the old guard trying to hold on to power in the face of change. At least that is what I hope is happening….and that change will prevail. 🙂

    The fact that we can express our opinions in this format is a wonderful and big change!


Leave a Reply

Categories

