Posted by: Peaceful Social Worker | March 24, 2012

My Magic Wand…

I have a magic wand. I bought it at a music festival vendor. I fully expected it to work for me. That wasn’t unreasonable of me, was it? I mean, I’ve watched many shows on TV where these things worked. Like magic. Heck, I grew up with Samantha Stephens who could wiggle her nose and make things change. So why can’t this wand work for me? It doesn’t require batteries. Believe me, I checked that out before I bought it. I heard the battery operated versions of these things really suck the batteries dry quickly. I’d be replacing them a lot. I’ve tried different incantations. Alas, to no avail. Nothing seems to work.

Imagine if it did work though. The things I could do with it. I would be able to complete the paperwork I am supposed to be doing right now……instead of writing this post. I could deal with the piles of paper that inhabit my office. There aren’t that many, but man, it is hard to get around to doing something with them…..piles just seem to work for me. And sometimes grow. The wand would clear the little clutter spots that have grown in my house. It would make the growing dust bunnies in the corners disappear. Maybe another dog would arise out of them……it is shedding season after all. 🙂

If this magic worked, I would only use it for good. For things that improve this world and our space. World peace, end of poverty, that kind of thing. I’d probably take more vacations in sunny climes. I’d have no clutter in my life.

I suppose that since I don’t have a functional magic wand, I’ll have to just create my own magic. Start that darned report. Finish it! Clear any clutter bit by bit. Create the little changes in my life and my world that will make the biggest differences. Find allies so we have a team of people doing this magic.

We all have the power to make some magic in our own lives and in the lives of others.

Where will you work your magic?

“The moment you doubt whether you can fly, you cease for ever to be able to do it.”   ~J.M. Barrie, Peter Pan
 

“Whatever you think you can do or believe you can do, begin it. Action has magic, grace and power in it” ~ Johann Wolfang von Goethe

Responses

  1. Well, I sure wouldn’t be employed if I had a magic wand! One that worked at any rate! It’s not that I dislike working, I actually like my job. There are just many other things I would rather be doing!!!

    • Oh, I know the feeling! My work would probably look different if I had a magic wand.

  2. Speaking of dust bunnies and magic wands, just a few minutes ago I was dust mopping/vacuuming the giant dust bunnies from under my bed. No new dog though, although this would not have surprised me either. I tend to let this chore go, until I can’t sleep at night anymore due to a plugged nose. Allergies, and still I let the dust get so out of hand that I am almost literally using it as a duvet. Anyway, I got er done this morning, without the magic wand. I worked up a real sweat. Yep, if I had such a tool, I could put away the swiffers, brooms, dust mops, and the old sock I used to dust the table tops and spend more time being truly useful. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

