Posted by: Peaceful Social Worker | March 28, 2012

Cats

A friend of mine told me she knew more about my dog than me from my Facebook page. I have decided to give the cats some equal billing.  I live with two bengal cats. The male is a silver spotted bengal and the female is brown spotted. The bengal breed was developed in the early 1980’s when they crossed an Asian Leopard cat with a domestic shorthair. They come in different colours and markings, with brown spotted being the most common. Marble is another common marking in bengals. Our male was 15 pounds until he lost some weight recently, and my female is 10 pounds. They are solid, muscular cats, with attitude!

My male could never have been a solo cat. He is somewhat needy at times (don’t tell him I told you that! 🙂 ) and when bored would have the brains and the brawn to find some mischief. My female on the other hand would love to be the only cat in the house. She is “Miss Pretty”, queen of the household! He did NOT like being held when we first got him, and I have scars to prove it. Now, he must have a cuddle most mornings. He has always been very personable, just not when he was being held. She loves to be adored and held. Of course, as you can see by the picture, they love to cuddle together, and usually sleep tangled up in a knot.

If you want to find a cat in my house, turn on a tap. They’ll come running. Bengals love water, and mine are no exception. They do not swim, but they will go into about two inches of bath water to wade a bit. They have both been in the shower with us at various times. Wierd, I tell ya! I have seen pictures of bengals swimming in tubs, in water that is deep enough for them to actually swim. They truly are in touch with their wild sides! My female cat will sit in the bath tub every morning so she can get her “shower”. This involves either having a cup of water poured down her back, so she can lick it off. Alternatively, it could mean turning on the tap so she can drink from it. On a good day, both things will happen.

Bengals are also quite talkative. At least my two are. We can have all manner of discussions about important things……well important to the cats apparently. They have quite the vocabulary and can chat up a storm when they want to. That’s all well and good until my female will get in the tub in the middle of the night and start hollering. I suspect she thinks she is singing opera, and likes the accoustics there. Of course, she does not have an appreciative audience for her performances!

I have lived with cats for most of my life. Anyone who tells you they are boring, or totally self-interested, has not lived with cats. Every cat I’ve lived with has had his or her own unique personality. They have loved being around people, and have interacted well with us. Some have been better with visitors than others. My male seems to be very outgoing and bold, yet he is the guy who is most likely to go hide under the bed when visitors come. My female on the other hand, will be in the living room strutting her stuff so she can get all the attention she can.

It is easy to see why some cultures thought that cats were gods. They generally walk around like they own the place, and maybe they do. They generally know how gorgeous they are, and expect to be adored as much as possible. They know how to be comfortable, and to take naps at the msot opportune times. In fact, they say if you want the most comfortable spot to sit, move the cat.

I think we can learn a lot from cats. Play when you feel like it. Take naps regularly. Be independent. Be affectionate. Purr. Hiss. Walk away with a swish of the tail. Knock over plants and play in the dirt. Smell things. Chatter at the birds through the window. If the bird is a raven who is twice your size, all the better!

If you are contemplating bringing a cat into your life, check with your local shelter first. There are many fabulous cats waiting for homes there.

The Naming Of Cats by T. S. Eliot
The Naming of Cats is a difficult matter,
It isn’t just one of your holiday games;
You may think at first I’m as mad as a hatter
When I tell you, a cat must have THREE DIFFERENT NAMES.
First of all, there’s the name that the family use daily,
Such as Peter, Augustus, Alonzo or James,
Such as Victor or Jonathan, George or Bill Bailey–
All of them sensible everyday names.
There are fancier names if you think they sound sweeter,
Some for the gentlemen, some for the dames:
Such as Plato, Admetus, Electra, Demeter–
But all of them sensible everyday names.
But I tell you, a cat needs a name that’s particular,
A name that’s peculiar, and more dignified,
Else how can he keep up his tail perpendicular,
Or spread out his whiskers, or cherish his pride?
Of names of this kind, I can give you a quorum,
Such as Munkustrap, Quaxo, or Coricopat,
Such as Bombalurina, or else Jellylorum-
Names that never belong to more than one cat.
But above and beyond there’s still one name left over,
And that is the name that you never will guess;
The name that no human research can discover–
But THE CAT HIMSELF KNOWS, and will never confess.
When you notice a cat in profound meditation,
The reason, I tell you, is always the same:
His mind is engaged in a rapt contemplation
Of the thought, of the thought, of the thought of his name:
His ineffable effable
Effanineffable
Deep and inscrutable singular Name.

 

 

Responses

  1. I’m allergic to cats, but have had them in the past. I had a Lynx Point that we adopted from a shelter. We named her Allison because she was pretty and Allison seemed like an appropriate name. Allison went to bed every night at 9:30 percisely. She sat in front of me in the living room making loud vocalizations and stared me down until I got up and went to bed. It was just easier to live by her rules than attempt to stay up past my/her bedtime. I know exactly what you meant when you said you serve two cats.

    As per converstaion with pets, I had a snoodle named Toto [yes we also had a Dorothy] who was not much for chit chat. When I was alone with her, after Dorothy had passed away, I would sit and talk to Toto. Toto would listen briefly, then get up, yawn and walk away, then she crawled under the bed and hid until I stopped talking to her. There was always this little sigh first, of exasperation, a ‘here we go again, blah, blah, blah’ kind of sigh like teenagers give you when you try to talk to them. I tried to keep my chin up and my pride intact, but I must say she knew how to make a point.

    The photos are perfect. Lots of personality there.

    • Hahaha….that sounds funny. I can almost see Toto’s face. My dog crawls under the bed when he’s had enough too. It is his safe place. My last dog would go to bed at 9:00. She would quietly get up and go to the bedroom. We’d realize she was gone, and knew where she went.

      I had two “old guys” (cats) who lived together since kittenhood. One was a large orange tabby, and the other was black. When my husband and I were dating, I used to feed the cats at bedtime. We’d be sitting watching TV, and as “dinner time” rolled around, the orange tabby would sit on the coffee table facing us, and would stare at my husband directly, and would start tapping his foot. The message was pretty darned clear!

  2. Clever cat post! 😀 Thank you for sharing! Soooo adorable when they sing and take showers! 😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

