Posted by: Peaceful Social Worker | April 8, 2012

Easter thoughts

It is Easter morning in The Peace. It is a sunny day that promises to be warmer than we’ve seen for awhile. Our Easter dinner will consist of rack of lamb done on the barbeque. Hopefully, there is some mint sauce for a marinade. Thankfully the weather is cooperative for our first barbeque meal of the season.

Easter is a time of hope. It is a time when Christians celebrate the risen Jesus. We have come through a time of Lent when we anticipate the crucifixion. It is a time of reflection, and often of self-sacrifice. We enter the Easter season and recognize Palm Sunday, Maundy Thursday and Good Friday. We mourn Jesus’ crucifixion and wonder whether things will be the same. Then Easter arrives. We know He is risen.

The United Church “A Song of Faith” states:

But death was not the last word.

God raised Jesus from death,

      turning sorrow into joy,

     despair into hope.

We sing of Jesus raised from the dead.

We sing hallelujah.

This is a time of hope. We have been through the darkness, and have come into the light. It is a time of transformation.

Spring is a time of growth as well. Our world has been dark and cold, at least in this part of the world. We have wondered if it will ever be warm again. If there will ever be sunshine and green grass again.

I love Connie Kaldor’s lyrics for Spring in the Prairies:

Spring in the Prairies

Comes like a surprise

One minute there’s snow on the ground

The next there’s sun in your eyes

I sometimes think that is the way with hope and despair. Sometimes we can be so bogged down in despair, we don’t think we will ever see the sun again. It is easy to catastrophize and make things worse than they need to be. Then all of a sudden, a ray of hope shines in. We know there is a solution, and that we will make it.

Spring is a time of transition. A time of new growth and possibilities. What will you do to grow?

I started this blog as a way to create and write. I needed an outlet to write of things that were not reports and other work related things. It has been a great experience. Sadly, some of those work related tasks have come to drown me for a little while. I am digging out of the pile and see the ray of sunshine peeking through the cracks. I have hope that I will “git er done” as they say around here.

My lenten reflection has been about how to balance my worklife better. As someone in private practice, I sometimes find myself working or in work mode far too much of the time. That has to stop. My goal is to have time for regular recreational writing. I’d like to work four days per week. I will probably eliminate some of what I do now in order to make room for a new opportunity. I have signed up for an online course that I will start next month. With a little bit of discipline, I’ll make these changes.

How about you? What do you need to do? How will you transform?

It’s spring fever.  That is what the name of it is.  And when you’ve got it, you want – oh, you don’t quite know what it is you do want, but it just fairly makes your heart ache, you want it so!  ~Mark Twain

Responses

  1. Thank you for reminding us of keeping the balance in all aspects of our lives. Sometimes, I find myself on a vacation from writing, but then I realize that it is important that I do this for myself. Your blogs are great reminders, as usual, of what we must pursue in life: heart, good works, and peace. 😀

    Pink.

    • Thanks Pink. I feel really good when I write non-work things. I like writing for work too, but it is not the same. One day I will find some balance…..

      • You already are. 😀

  2. Re: What do you need to transform? I will have to give you the short list. What I hope to transform is my anxiety. I want to practice living in the moment more. So much of my energy is wasted worrying about things that might happen in future. I’ve been working on this for years,and now and then I do make progress but so far I haven’t been able to make calmness a part of my personality.

    • Naming those will help you move forward Lori Ann. Hopefully this time next year, you will be able to say you have less anxiety and more calmness. Thanks for commenting.


Leave a Reply

Categories

