Posted by: Peaceful Social Worker | May 2, 2012

My cat is an opera singer

The Diva in her space

My cat is an opera singer. She is a true diva. Her favourite time to perform is in the middle of the night, 4:00 a.m. is particularly wonderful. Her stage is the bath tub, which has fantabulous accoustics in her opinion. She goes to her stage and promptly starts singing at the top of her lungs. The house is filled with loud meows and mrrraows, of varying styles and pitches. She is truly wonderful. In her mind. Asking her to please be quiet, and give her performance at a more suitable hour serves no useful purpose. She apparently does not believe there is a more suitable hour. So, on she goes, loudly singing. Her captive audience hearing every note. She’s in her element.ย 

This is admirable really. Her self confidence is solid. She knows she is gorgeous and talented. She knows she is adored. Well, she is told she is gorgeous every day, so I suppose that helps. ๐Ÿ™‚

I often think it would be wise to be more like my cat. She sleeps in the most comfortable spots in the house. She plays randomly. She hunts down flies in the house, and keeps the home free from any pests. She ignores the people she doesn’t like and seeks attention from those she likes. She purrs randomly, and loves to have her belly rubbed. She sings.

Gorgeous is as gorgeous does!

Life is good for Ms Cat.ย 

What would your life be with such self-confidence?ย  Would you sing at the top of your lungs in places where the acoustics are marvelous? Would you sleep when you need to, and play when you want? Would you be curious and content?

I challenge you to be as gorgeous and fabulous as my cat. Enjoy life, and have fun.

Every day we slaughter our finest impulses. That is why we get a heart-ache when we read those lines written by the hand of a master and recognize them as our own, as the tender shoots which we stifled because we lacked the faith to believe in our own powers, our own criterion of truth and beauty. Every man, when he gets quiet, when he becomes desperately honest with himself, is capable of uttering profound truths. We all derive from the same source. There is no mystery about the origin of things. We are all part of creation, all kings, all poets, all musicians; we have only to open up, to discover what is already there. ~Henry Miller, Sexus

If we treated everyone we meet with the same affection we bestow upon our favorite cat, they, too, would purr. ~Martin Buxbaumย 

ย 

Responses

  1. It’s easy for Henry Miller to spout ‘every man’ nonsense, after all, he was married to Marilyn Monroe..now every man could have married that one…
    As an inveterate cat worshipper, I find them delightful and frustrating..but if she sang inside at 4 a.m. she’d be serenading the moon in no time, at my house…

    • Well, she doesn’t sing every night, or she’d likely have a similar fate. She is an indoor cat and a wuss. ๐Ÿ™‚ Her “concerts” are usually short-ish. They can be shortened too by removing her from her stage.

      • Or, perhaps, ‘showering’ her with accolades?

      • Hahaha….one thing I did not mention…..she has come into the shower with me. She also expects her “shower” in the morning. That involves pouring water over her back so she can clean herself properly…..she’s different. And a diva! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • I had a Siamese like that..back in the day, when I used to have a bath..he’d run along the side of the tub yowling, then jump in and swim for a few seconds, then yowl to get lifted out..cats are very entertaining, in their own inimitable way…

      • Wow. My guys aren’t quite that comfortable with water, but if they did that I would not be surprised! Got to love cats. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Animals really do have alot to teach us. I learn everyday from my dog as she gets acquainted with the natural world, which she missed out on for the first year of her life. Everything is new to her, and she truly teaches me to appreciate things I would otherwise not notice. Right now she is quite overcome by dandilions.This is her first spring outdoors. Yesterday I saw the dandilions from her eyes and laughed. Of course, they would surprise her. They just jumped up out of the grass overnight, miraclously. They are so bright it’s as if they are jumping up with joy and laughing.They must know the punchlines to a million jokes.

    • That’s cool. My dog is so amazed at the world, and it is neat to see the world from his eyes. I suspect I will need to write about him again. Then of course the male cat will want his story….. ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Wow, an amazing post for those of us, ah-hem, who battle self-doubt. Absolutely the cure is self-confidence, and as it’s growing within me I do find I’m following your remedy of “She ignores the people she doesnโ€™t like and seeks attention from those she likes.” It’s taken much of me to simply ignore beggars and suckers of my time as they drain me with their endless lack of self-responsibility and offsetting it onto me.

    Thank you so much for this reminder to be Ms. Cat. It will open up opportunities and close lack of, even if it’s only within me. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Pink.

    • Thanks. I think we can learn a lot from our pets. Remember, you believe in God. God does not create junk. Therefore, you are not junk. You are good stuff.


Leave a Reply

Categories

