Posted by: Peaceful Social Worker | May 5, 2012

My dog wants to be a pin-up puppy

Helios

 Helios would like to be a calendar dog. He is so gorgeous, and he wants to raise money for the BC SPCA. Will you help him? 

The BC SPCA has a calendar contest where each dollar donated is a vote for the pet who has been entered. The money raised goes to help animals in need. It funds shelters, rescues, education and many other things. Their mission is “To protect and enhance the quality of life for domestic, farm and wild animals in British Columbia”. They have a variety of fundraising activities, and the calendar is one.

Helios is an SPCA puppy. He was apparently abandonned in a nearby town, and rescued by a man who was an informal rescuer. This man took good care of his animals, so Helios was neutered and tattooed. Helios came to the SPCA in about July of 2010, along with two other dogs who had been living with him.  I was volunteering as a dog walker at the time, in order to get a dog fix after our ten year old lab/shepherd, Tanner, died. We also knew we’d be adopting another dog at some point. I met Helios in July and he adopted me right away. I fell for his smiling face and big brown eyes. I couldn’t take him home right away, so when I visited the shelter, I made sure I took him for a walk. I spoke with my husband, and then encouraged him to come and meet Helios one Saturday. Helios came home with us that day.

Chillin at the music festival

Helios has been a fabulous dog. He is smart and friendly. He is very energetic. Thankfully, he has an off switch. Thank goodness for that! We are looking forward to starting agility again, and he can’t wait to show the instructor what he has learned over the winter.

I encourage you to visit your local shelter, and consider volunteering in some capacity. They can always use the help. Dogs always need walks, and cats always need cuddles. If you are looking for a pet, consider adopting from your local shelter. Spay or neuter your pet.

Please support the BC SPCA by voting for Helios in the calendar contest.

The great pleasure of a dog is that you may make a fool of yourself with him and not only will he not scold you, but he will make a fool of himself too.  ~Samuel Butler, Notebooks, 1912 

Responses

  1. If you want to donate, check out the BC SPCA website. You can also ask me. The contest closes on May 10 @ noon. We could get there with just a couple more donations. 🙂

  2. Love this post! And I wish I wasn’t so allergic (and terrified) of animals. It’s like they can smell my fear. 😀 But I definitely admire and pray for them afar 😀 Love your pic! 😀

    Pink.

    • They can definitely smell your fear. My last dog was a very friendly lab/shepherd cross. She always acted wierd and worse around people who were afraid of her. If we lived closer, I’d introduce you to Helios because he is very friendly and safe.

      You are welcome to vote for Helios. 😀 I’ve already had one out of province donation.

      • Helios sounds sooo cute! And thank you for letting us know how to vote! Such a lovely adorable pic! 😀

        Pink.

  3. I hope Helios gets his photo in the calendar. What a great idea for a fundraiser.

    • Thanks. You are welcome to donate and vote for him. 🙂 We have gotten above the $400 mark, so there’s hope.

  4. Helios did make it into the calendar. I wrote another post about him being a pin-up puppy if you want more info.


Leave a Reply

Categories

