Posted by: Peaceful Social Worker | May 17, 2012

The Photoshoot

Happy dog – photo by Hails Elizabeth Photography

Helios will be a pin-up puppy in the 2013 BC SPCA calendar. He was tied for fourth place after raising $1325. The calendar contest exceded its fundraising goal, and the amounts raised were impressive. There will be 13 pets in the calendar. Twelve out of the thirteen raised over $1000. The thirteenth pet raised almost $1000. Very impressive. 

The BCSPCA looks after animals in the province of BC. Our community has a shelter that is usually full of cats and dogs. Sometimes there will be a hamster or a bird, or some other animal in care. There are often many pets who go to foster homes for a variety of reasons. The shelter might be full. It might be too stressful for the animal. The animal may just need some special care. There was a call looking for a foster home for a mom and her puppies today. The people who work for the SPCA and the volunteers work hard.

My boy! ~Hails Elizabeth Photography

When I learned that Helios had made it into the calendar, the next task was to find a suitable picture. Of course, there are many nice pictures of him around. There are also some pictures that make him look like a dork. Of course we do not want him looking like a dork in the calendar, so I had to figure out how to get a good picture of him. I have a friend who has a daughter who is aspiring to be a photographer and she was happy to take pictures of Helios. We met in a local park one evening last week. It was a lovely sunny evening and a bit chilly. It is also one of Helios’ favourite spots. He was happy and smiling.  

This was a fun way to spend an hour for all of us. Helios got to run around chasing a stick. He got to pose and look handsome. I was really proud of him when he was described as such an obedient dog. Apparently the training pays off. 🙂 He followed commands quite well, and even seemed to be posing for the pictures. He and Haley, the photographer, hit it off well, so she got his best side…..in most of the pictures. She took a couple hundred pictures. There are many fabulous ones that show how handsome and happy he is.

I first met Helios in July 2010 when he first arrived at our local shelter. I had been walking dogs as a volunteer since our last dog died in April 2010. I did this to get my dog fix, and because I knew we’d be adopting a dog, and I wanted to get to know a few first. The day I met Helios, there were several new dogs in the shelter. One was “Tzatziki” who was described as a retriever cross. Or maybe a lab cross. At any rate, I am a sucker for this type of dog, so I went in to see him. He adopted me on the spot. I fell for his silly grin and bright eyes. Whenever I went to the shelter, I would visit him and take him for a walk. I couldn’t adopt him right away, so I hoped that someone would not scoop him up before I could. I told my husband I had met a dog I wanted to adopt. He came to walk with us one Saturday in August. “Tzatziki” came home with us that day. Tzatziuki is a name that is difficult to live with on a daily basis, so we tried out different names. Zeke did not seem to fit. Then we thought of Greek god names. Since we had two cats named after Greek gods, we figured that would be the way to go. Helios is a sun god. The name suits him perfectly. He has a sunny personality and is a gold colour.  He has settled in and has become a wonderful companion for us.

My handsome guy ~ Hails Elizabeth Photography

I am an absolute believer in adopting from our local shelters. They are full of wonderful potential pets who need homes. I think part of the reason they are so wonderful is they do not want to return, so will be fabulous.

He is your friend, your partner, your defender, your dog. You are his life, his love, his leader. He will be yours, faithful and true, to the last beat of his heart. You owe it to him to be worthy of such devotion. — Author Unknown
Responses

  1. I am very impressed with your shelter! I’m creating a 2013 calendar called Cute Guys and Kittens and using kittens from the local humane society in the photos. This will be my first time to do a project this big, so I’m nervous! If you have any advice, send it over to my blog, please.

    • Hmmmm…..I thought I replied to this from my BlackBerry. Apparently, I haven’t figured that out yet! 🙂 The calendar is for the entire province. If you go to http://www.spca.bc.ca you will get more information. I’m not sure if the calendar info is still there though. Thanks for the comment and good luck with your calendar.


Leave a Reply

Categories

