Posted by: Peaceful Social Worker | October 16, 2012

New-s

I haven’t been writing much lately and have no excuse for that. I enjoy writing and making my brain cells earn their living. It makes me feel more alive, and maybe vibrant. I even might feel more articulate. I don’t know. The introvert in me likes this. Now I am using this as a way to procrastinate productively……..

This beautiful guy is in the BCSPCA 2013 calendar, which is available to purchase now.

There have been several new things in my life lately. I am now working part-time at a nearby detox. We have a beautiful new baby girl in the family. I am now Chair of Presbytery and have chaired my first meeting, and have lived to tell about it. Life continues on.

It is nice to be challenged by these new things. I hadn’t started a new job in years, and felt the anxiety of strangeness on my first day. By the end of my first week there, I felt like I had been there forever. That is an awesome start. When I sat at the table to chair my first meeting, I felt lost and confused…..as if I had never taken part in such a meeting, or had never chaired any meeting. I got support from my friends and the members of the meeting, and soon felt very comfortable in front of this wonderful group of people.

I need to be mindful of these feelings, especially as I work to help my clients at the detox. They are entering a scary new journey and have to make some big changes if they wish to live a healthier life.  It is so easy to become complacent, and to just get in a rut. Some ruts, like drug and alcohol abuse, are potentially downright dangerous. Some are just, well boring and make us stagnate.

I want to live like my dog who seems to face life with gleeful enthusiasm. Every day seems to bring him possibilities. When he steps out the door, well, he doesn’t actually step out the door, he leaps and bounds out the door…..as I was saying, as he bounds out the door, he does it with a big silly tongue-lolling, tail-wagging-smile. It’s as if he is saying “WOOHOO! What can we find out here today!?” Oh to have such enthusiasm. I’m working on it. 🙂

Having some new things in my life has restored some of my enthusiasm and energy. It has been good for my soul. I look forward to meeting Ms Sydney, the new baby girl in our family, and watching her grow into a beautiful young lady like her big sister and her mother. I will channel some of my dog’s joy, and bound through life with some enthusiasm.

Enthusiasm is the energy and force that builds  literal momentum of the human soul and mind. ~Bryant H McGill

Responses

  1. You’re incredible, and being part of any step in your journey is such an honor. Your posts give peace. Thank you for sharing. And congrats on Ms Sydney, a job that feels like home (I’m finally feeling like that too after three years of absolute opposite, alhumdulillah), and all the good tidings! 😀

    • Thanks Pink. I’m glad to hear you are doing well. Peace be with you!

      • Awww… and you too! 😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

